top of page
  • Anneke de Jong

To God be the Glory

You may listen to this devotion in audio form via podcast here.

 

Psalm 119:9-16 I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word. - Psalm 119:16 My phone occasionally likes to tell me how much time I’ve spent on it. I’m always convicted when I see those screen time statistics. As I read through our passage for today, and then through all of Psalm 119, I became convicted in a whole different way. The Westminster Catechism tells us that “Man's chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy Him forever.” Psalm 119 shows us what that looks like. One hundred, seventy-six verses dedicated to praising God for the law he’s given us. The law that reveals God’s will for us. The law that shows us how to live our lives for his glory as we enjoy him forever. The author of Psalm 119 uses eight different Hebrew words as synonyms for God’s law - words like commands, decrees, statutes, precepts, ways, word. We are given a rich and joyful picture of what it looks like to immerse ourselves fully in God’s word and live in obedience to his will. Today we are exploring just one stanza of this massive poem. Verse 9 begins with a question - “How can a young person stay on the path of purity?” Or as Paul puts it in Titus 2, “How do we say no to ungodliness and worldly passions, and live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age?” We do not live in an age that values moral purity, self-control or godliness. But we have been saved by a God who does. He “gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good” (Titus 2:14). The good that comes from living according to his word. In verses 10-16, we are given some valuable disciplines for learning what God’s word says and how to live according to it. Reread those verses and look for all the actions the psalmist is taking.


I seek you with all my heart; 
 do not let me stray from your commands.
 I have hidden your word in my heart
 that I might not sin against you. 
Praise be to you, Lord; 
 teach me your decrees.
 With my lips I recount 
 all the laws that come from your mouth.
 I rejoice in following your statutes
 as one rejoices in great riches. 
I meditate on your precepts 
 and consider your ways.
 I delight in your decrees;
 I will not neglect your word.


You will notice that the psalmist doesn’t just apply the word of God to his life, he applies his life to the word of God. He’s actively interacting and engaging with it. Seeking, memorizing, retelling, meditating. That’s the part I found so convicting! These are all disciplines that help us learn what the will of God is. Then through the work of the Holy Spirit, we can strive to live in obedience, according to his good, pleasing, and perfect will.


To God be the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page