top of page
  • Vera Grimmius

The Lord Will Provide

You may listen to this devotion in audio form via podcast here.

 

Genesis 22:1-19 Isaac spoke up and said to his father Abraham, “Father?” “Yes, my son?” Abraham replied. “The fire and wood are here,” Isaac said, “but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?” Abraham answered, “God himself will provide the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.” And the two of them went on together. - Genesis 22:7-8 It’s Lent – what exactly does that mean? The dictionary says: the period preceding Easter that in the Christian church is devoted to fasting, abstinence, and penitence in commemoration of Christ fasting in the wilderness. It runs from Ash Wednesday to Holy Saturday, so includes 40 weekdays. Several years back I realized Mardi Gras marked the day before Lent started. People partied so they could abstain afterward. I remembered thinking that was a little strange and maybe I was somewhat judgmental of the revelers. It’s so easy to judge others, but how do I treat the season? Some years I’ve given up something for those weeks that I enjoyed, usually a food item. I confess feeling somewhat proud that I fasted in a particular way I considered worthy. Today as I read the scripture, I feel like God wants more. He wants a sincere heart. A heart that truly believes and has faith in what cannot be seen. One that trusts and believes the Lord has provided. There is never enough I can give up, making myself worthy of God’s presence. On the other hand, there is never too much to give up for God. Psalm 105 speaks of how God gave Israel so much so they would keep His precepts and obey His laws. God asked Abraham to sacrifice his son Isaac. We all know the end of the story but as I read it again, I realized anew that Abraham and Isaac didn’t know there would be a ram provided. Can you just imagine how it felt when Abraham tied Isaac to the altar and picked up the knife? There must have been great sorrow and yet complete surrender. Many of us who have buried loved ones need to have faith in the fact one day God will provide (and in some ways has already) that perfect Home where there is no sin, no covid, no sickness, no pain, no tears, no death. Being with our Lord and Savior Jesus in person and being reunited with all who followed and believed in Jesus while living on earth. Just wow! Lent to me is surrendering my heart to God. Giving up each day to His will and way. Living in the knowledge that the Lord will provide. We must have confidence in what we hope for and assurance in what we do not see because this is what the ancients were commended for (Hebrews 11:1-3). Are we living our life in surrender and obedience to God’s ways? Using all the wonderful material things He’s given us for His glory (Psalm 105:44-45)? For me this is a constant work in progress, thanks be to God for His provision! As we look forward to the celebration of Good Friday and Easter – we need to believe and accept that gift of Jesus into our hearts and lives. “For we live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord. So, we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.” (2 Corinthians 5:7-9)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page