top of page
  • Jeremy Lyzenga

Thanksgiving

Psalm 100


Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.


Worship the LORD with gladness;


come before him with joyful songs. 


Know that the LORD is God.


It is he who made us, and we are his;


we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. 


Enter his gates with thanksgiving


and his courts with praise;


give thanks to him and praise his name.


For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;


his faithfulness continues through all generations.



It is such a blessing to hear these familiar words coming through the lips and heart of a 5 year old. This year my youngest daughter, Chloe, memorized these words at CVC Kindergarten and was able to recite them for our family after dinner this past weekend. As she stood on her chair at the kitchen table and quoted this well known scripture, I was struck by the words anew and convicted of my own failures at living in the manner described in this Psalm. Allow me to walk you through my thoughts, and see if they resonate with you.



Shout for joy to the LORD, all the earth.


When was the last time I shouted for joy to the Lord, if ever? I shout for joy when my fantasy football player scores a touchdown…but shouting to God in joy? 



Worship the LORD with gladness;


come before him with joyful songs.


How often do I come to church gladly, or is it all too often a sense of duty or obligation, or worse, frustration and anger as we’re trying to get everyone out the door? (I’m convinced the devil works extra hard on families on Sunday mornings.)



Know that the LORD is God.


Is this at the forefront of my mind as I live out my daily routines and rhythms? How much of my life is actually spent living as if I am god of my own life?



It is he who made us, and we are his;


we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.


Do I spend more energy on following the Good Shepherd or trying to run ahead of the flock, and make a name for myself? Do I trust Him enough to rest in his presence and follow his leading?



Enter his gates with thanksgiving


and his courts with praise;


give thanks to him and praise his name.


Nonetheless, despite my failings I will continue to go before God and give him thanks. Why? Because no matter what I do, no matter what I have, no matter how I fail…



the LORD is good and his love endures forever;


his faithfulness continues through all generations.



I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  - Romans 8:38-39



Gracious Father,


Thank you that none of our striving or failing could ever keep us from you. Thank you for your enduring love and faithfulness. Help us to know that you are God, to trust in you day to day, and to worship you with gladness.


Amen.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Positive Assurance

Psalm 33:12-19a "Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord, the people he chose for his inheritance. From heaven the Lord looks down and sees all mankind; from his dwelling place he watches all who

Apocalypse

As a church, we’re in the middle of a sermon series on the book of Revelation. As my students learned recently in our Sunday School class, reading apocalyptic literature like Revelation is no easy tas

Hard Questions

The mail arrives about 11:00 AM. On Mondays, there is usually a new Crossroads Prison Ministry Bible lesson to grade. This includes writing a letter to the inmate who did the lesson. We are instructed

bottom of page