top of page
  • Vera Grimmius

Simply Trust


By: Vera Grimmius

You may listen to this devotion in audio form via podcast here.


“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes: its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”



Have you thought, like me, is it really that simple – all we must do is trust? Coming across this verse in a devotion the other day made me think of our valley. The need for water is always present. It seems we can’t pray too often for rain. We understand; no water – no crops. We are surrounded by agriculture, so we understand these verses.


I personally love this word picture. This is how I see it:

Lately over the past several months so many people around me question the things happening. One person is certain we all need the Covid vaccine, another is afraid it will change their body in terrible ways. There are those who don’t go anywhere without their mask and others who are angry if they must wear one.


This is a time many of us may wonder how do we trust the Lord? The other day some of my family members were discussing this very thing. What does it mean to trust God? How do we plant ourselves in Him so we can bear fruit and never experience drought? Together we remembered other times in history that could have caused anxiety and fear, but they didn’t have YouTube or the internet. We concluded that we still must trust God, maybe now more than ever.


Gideons liked to remind us to hold on to the Word with all five fingers. A pastor I heard once used their example which was: 1st finger – meditate, 2nd finger – memorize, 3rd finger – study, 4th finger – read, and 5th finger – hear. Hearing the Word is important but without the first 4, hearing alone is not enough. It reminds me of the Berean Jews in Acts 17:10-15. They were called people of noble character as they received the message (heard) and examined the scripture every day to see if what Paul said was true.


If we faithfully spend time with God and His Word, we will be certain of how He wants us to live in a world with so many troubles. We will look like green trees, bearing much fruit of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control, Galatians 5:22-23. We will have calmness and trust that others will desire and want to know how we do it.


A favorite and final verse with a thought of how to trust is John 8:31: Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.”


Lord, help us all walk in your truth, trusting You completely so we can enjoy freedom without fear. We confess this is daily work on our part, so help us simply trust as You would want us to. Amen

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trust

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Where does trust come from? How do

Seek His Face

Hosea 5:15-6:1 I will return again to my place, until they acknowledge their guilt and seek my face, and in their distress earnestly seek me. Come, let us return to the Lord; for he has torn us, that

Hold on to what you heard from the beginning

Text: Psalm 4; Daniel 9:1-19; 1 John 2:18-25 Psalm 4 1Answer me when I call to you, my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; have mercy on me and hear my prayer. 2How long will you people tu

bottom of page