top of page
  • Nathan Scheele

Seek His Face

Hosea 5:15-6:1


I will return again to my place, until they acknowledge their guilt and seek my face, and in their distress earnestly seek me. 


Come, let us return to the Lord; for he has torn us, that he may heal us; he has struck us down, and he will bind us up.



God wants us to seek Him, to pursue Him. “You will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all of your heart. I will be found by,...” (Jeremiah 29:12-14a) God promises to reveal Himself to those who seek Him. 



Our Scripture for this morning tells us to ‘Seek His face.’ This phrase is mentioned in other places in Scripture as well (Psalm 27:8, 2 Chronicles 7:14, Psalm 24:6, 2 Chronicles 20:3). Do you desire a face to face with God? To come before His presence? To meet with Him? 



2 Corinthians 4:6 tells us that the Light and knowledge and glory of God has been given to us in the face of Jesus Christ (2 Corinthians 4:6). The way to the presence of God, the face of God, has been revealed to us. 



Let me ask you again, Do you long to be in His presence? Do you desire to have a meeting with God? 



We all know what it’s like to be face to face with someone. Whether for good or for bad, that is the best sort of communication to have with somebody. To seek the face of God means to have direct and personal communication with Him. The question is this: Do we desire this? Do we desire to have a meeting with God? 



Moses met with God on a regular basis in a tent and it made his face shiny. He had to veil his face because the Israelites were freaked out by it. 2 Corinthians 3-4 (Check it out! Great Passage of Scripture) tells us that what we have in the Gospel is greater than what Moses had. Meeting with God on the daily will change us so much so that people might be freaked out by you a little bit, or they might be so blown away that they will be encouraged to do the same. 



It’s so amazing and actually hard to believe that we have access to God the way that we do. I think if we really realized how amazing of an opportunity it actually is we would do it a lot more than what we do.  Let’s pray toward that end! 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creation's Joy

Psalm 19:1-4 “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge. There is no speech or lang

Trust

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Where does trust come from? How do

Hold on to what you heard from the beginning

Text: Psalm 4; Daniel 9:1-19; 1 John 2:18-25 Psalm 4 1Answer me when I call to you, my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; have mercy on me and hear my prayer. 2How long will you people tu

bottom of page