top of page
  • Ally Kornelis

Lift Up Your Heads

By: Ally Kornelis You may listen to this devotion in audio form via podcast here.

Psalm 24

Of David. A psalm.

1 The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it,

the world, and all who live in it;

2 for he founded it on the seas

and established it on the waters.


3 Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord?

Who may stand in his holy place?

4 The one who has clean hands and a pure heart,

who does not trust in an idol

or swear by a false god.


5 They will receive blessing from the Lord

and vindication from God their Savior.

6 Such is the generation of those who seek him,

who seek your face, God of Jacob.


7 Lift up your heads, you gates;

be lifted up, you ancient doors,

that the King of glory may come in.

8 Who is this King of glory?

The Lord strong and mighty,

the Lord mighty in battle.

9 Lift up your heads, you gates;

lift them up, you ancient doors,

that the King of glory may come in.

10 Who is he, this King of glory?

The Lord Almighty—

he is the King of glory.


This Psalm seems to capture the essence of the gospel and beautifully illustrate the workings of our Triune God.


We first see God’s sovereignty through the description of creation which he founded on the seas and established on waters. Then immediately we are faced with the transcendence of God’s goodness compared to us. When I read the questions in verse three I don’t feel worthy. Am I able to ascend the mountain of the Lord? Can I stand in his holy place? By asking who is worthy to stand on the Lord’s mountain and in his holy place, the Psalmist is acknowledging the separation that sin has caused between God and us. Only the one with clean hands and a pure heart is worthy to be in such a position. And surely that isn’t me.


But fortunately there is one who has clean hands and a pure heart. Jesus did not trust in an idol or swear by a false God. And because Jesus was able to fulfill the law and the prophets and redeem his people, we are able to have clean hands and pure hearts as well. As a result, we now may receive vindication from God our Savior.


If we acknowledge and trust in what Jesus accomplished, we simply need to lift up our heads and allow the Holy Spirit to enter in. The gates and doors of ancient cities would have been triumphal places of entry when someone important would arrive. David is encouraging the whole of Jerusalem to welcome in their God and accept the truth of the gospel. I love the imagery of lifting up one’s head. When I am faced with my sin or feel unworthy, lifting my eyes is the last thing I want to do, but it is precisely once we have acknowledged our sin and accepted the grace of Christ that we are lifted up. Through him, we have the ability to confidently seek the face of the God of the Universe. And when seeking his face we are blessed.


The Psalmist ends again with an acknowledgement of God’s sovereignty and goodness. Who is this God who would do such a thing for us? The Lord Almighty- he is the King of glory; lift up your heads to meet him.


Creator God, you are sovereign and mighty. Thank you that through your Son we are able to be reconciled to you. Help us to acknowledge the dignity you restore in us and give us the desire to seek your face and lift up our heads to meet you at all times. Amen.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trust

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Where does trust come from? How do

Seek His Face

Hosea 5:15-6:1 I will return again to my place, until they acknowledge their guilt and seek my face, and in their distress earnestly seek me. Come, let us return to the Lord; for he has torn us, that

Hold on to what you heard from the beginning

Text: Psalm 4; Daniel 9:1-19; 1 John 2:18-25 Psalm 4 1Answer me when I call to you, my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; have mercy on me and hear my prayer. 2How long will you people tu

bottom of page