top of page
  • Jeremy Lyzenga

God's Patience

By: Jeremy Lyzenga You may listen to this devotion in audio form via podcast here.


"Since, I, the LORD, do not go back on my promises, you, sons of Jacob, have not perished. From the days of your ancestors you have ignored my commandments and have not kept them. Return to me, and I will return to you," says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies. “But you say, 'How should we return?’"

- Malachi 3:6-7


Much of the book of Malachi consists of God calling out the Israelites, and the Israelites in turn making excuses. This scene takes place about 100 years after Israel has returned from exile in Babylon. God has kept his promises. His people were once again back in the promised land, and the temple has been rebuilt. But their worship of God was far from righteous, and their appreciation of what God had done for them was all but gone.


As I read up on the book of Malachi, and began to study this passage I was struck by the immense patience of God. These people whom God had raised up, set free, given the law, and manna, and a land, and kings and, and, and… and whom he had now delivered once again back to the land he has always promised--these people are yet again ignoring his commands, and are running away from Him. It’s been something like 1,000 years since God first made a covenant with Abraham. And I just can’t help but realize how vastly inferior am I in my capacity for patience. I can barely stand disobedience from my children for a mere 2 minutes. I cannot fathom God’s love to put up with it for thousands of years.


In the preceding chapters and verses we find that the Israelites were living in sexual immorality, doubting God’s faithfulness and love, and worshipping him with the bare minimum at best. And yet despite it all God invites them to come back. The Loving Father longs for the prodigal son to come home. He says “Return to me.” I still love you. I still want to be in relationship with you. I still want you to give me your very best.


God is patient.


I am Israel.


I am forever grateful for a God who became flesh and made his dwelling among us, and who despite my excuse making, my running, my complaining, and my apathy continues to say to me “Return to me, and I will return to you.”


Praise be to this God.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trust

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Where does trust come from? How do

Seek His Face

Hosea 5:15-6:1 I will return again to my place, until they acknowledge their guilt and seek my face, and in their distress earnestly seek me. Come, let us return to the Lord; for he has torn us, that

Hold on to what you heard from the beginning

Text: Psalm 4; Daniel 9:1-19; 1 John 2:18-25 Psalm 4 1Answer me when I call to you, my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; have mercy on me and hear my prayer. 2How long will you people tu

bottom of page